You are here
Home > WVU Football > Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award filled with current and former Mountaineers

Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award filled with current and former Mountaineers

American Heart Association and The Paul Bear Bryant Awards’ Title Sponsor Marathon Oil Corporation today announced the watch list for the coveted Coach of the Year Award, which will be revealed at the 29th annual event on Jan. 14, 2015 in Houston. The list will be cut down in December when the finalist are announced. The watch list, which consists of 20 coaches, is filled with a slew of West Virginia natives as well as current Mountaineer head coach Dana Holgorsen.  Former WVU coaches Rich Rodriguez (currently at Arizona) and Doc Holliday (currently at Marshall) join natives Jimbo Fisher and Nick Saban on the list. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career. After finishing the 2013 season at 4-8 Dana Holgorsen has led this years program to a 6-2 record including 4-1 in the Big 12 conference. The Mountaineers have already avenged 4 loses from last season beating Maryland, Kansas, Baylor, and Texas Tech. Currently tied for second in the conference and ranked for the first time in almost 2 years the Mountaineers have the opportunity to win the Big 12 conference for the first time in school history. The full watch list for the Bear Byrant Coach of the Year award is as follows;

  •  Art Briles, Baylor University
  •  Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
  •  Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
  •  Hugh Freeze, University of Mississippi
  •  Todd Graham, Arizona State
  •  Mark Helfrich, University of Oregon
  •  Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia University
  •  Doc Holliday, Marshall University
  •  Brian Kelly, University of Notre Dame
  •  Gus Malzahn, Auburn University
  •  Ruffin McNeill, East Carolina University
  •  Dan Mullen, Mississippi State
  •  Gary Patterson, Texas Christian University
  •  Bo Pelini, University of Nebraska
  •  Mark Richt, University of Georgia
  •  Rich Rodriguez, University of Arizona
  •  Nick Saban, University of Alabama
  •  Bill Snyder, Kansas State University
  •  Bob Stoops, University of Oklahoma
  •  Kyle Whittingham, University of Utah

You can see the full release here. article photo courtesy of

Jeremy Simon
Founder and publisher of, Jeremy is also a contributor to USA Today as well as covers the Mountaineers for Athlon Sports. Follow on Twitter @JSi07
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar