You are here
Home > WVU Sports > Billy Kinney Named To Ray Guy Award List

Billy Kinney Named To Ray Guy Award List

Redshirt Sophomore punter and Morgantown, WV native, Billy Kinney, has been named to the 2016 Ray Guy Award Candidate List that was released Monday morning. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation’s best collegiate punter. Kinney is averaging 44.2 yards per punt this season which is good enough for second in the Big 12 behind the Longhorns Michael Dickson who also made the list.

Official press release:

2016 Ray Guy Award Complete Candidate List Announced

Augusta, GA (October 31, 2016) – The Augusta Sports Council has released the complete list of candidates for the 2016 Ray Guy Award. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards every year in December. Among the 66 candidates are two of the 2015 finalists, Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State and Hayden Hunt, Colorado State. Candidates on our 2016 list were nominated for the award by their school’s Sports Information Departments.

The following list will be narrowed down to ten semifinalists to be announced on Friday, November 11. Following the announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Sports Information Directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the three finalists who will be identified on Tuesday, November 22. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner. The 2016 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 8.

2016 Ray Guy Award Candidates:

  • JK Scott, Alabama
  • Matt Haack, Arizona State
  • Toby Baker, Arkansas
  • Drew Galitz, Baylor
  • Sean Wale, Boise State
  • Joseph Davidson, Bowling Green
  • Jonny Linehan, Brigham Young
  • Kyle DeWeen, Buffalo
  • Dylan Klumph, California
  • Hayden Hunt, Colorado State
  • Worth Gregory, East Carolina
  • Austin Barnes, Eastern Michigan
  • Stone Wilson, FIU
  • Johnny Townsend, Florida
  • Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic
  • Rigoberto Sanchez, Hawaii
  • Austin Rehkow, Idaho
  • Colin Downing, Iowa State
  • Cole Moos, Kansas
  • Derek Adams, Kent State
  • Grant McKinniss, Kentucky
  • Steven Coutts, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Wade Lees, Maryland
  • Logan Laurent, Massachusetts
  • Spencer Smith, Memphis
  • Paul Justin Vogel, Miami
  • Kenny Allen, Michigan
  • Matt Bonadies, Middle Tennessee
  • Ryan Santoso, Minnesota
  • Logan Cooke, Mississippi State
  • Corey Fatony, Missouri
  • Alex Barta, Navy
  • Alfred James Cole, III, NC State
  • Tom Sheldon, North Carolina
  • Eric Keena, North Texas
  • Hunter Niswander, Northwestern
  • Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
  • Austin Seibert, Oklahoma
  • Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State
  • Bailey Cate, Old Dominion
  • Nick Porebski, Oregon State
  • Blake Gillikin, Penn State
  • Ryan Henry Winslow, Pittsburgh
  • Jack Fox, Rice
  • Tanner Blain, San Diego State
  • Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State
  • Sean Kelly, South Carolina
  • Jonathan Hernandez, South Florida
  • Jake Bailey, Stanford
  • Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse
  • Adam Nunez, TCU
  • Alex Starzyk, Temple
  • Trevor Daniel, Tennessee
  • Michael Dickson, Texas
  • Shane Tripucka, Texas A&M
  • Lumi Kaba, Texas State
  • Justin Wain, Connecticut
  • Caleb Houston, UCF
  • Chris Tilbey, USC
  • Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah
  • Aaron Dalton, Utah State
  • Alex Luna, UTEP
  • Nicholas Conte, Virginia
  • Billy Kinney, West Virginia
  • Jake Collins, WKU
  • Ethan Wood, Wyoming
Jeremy Simon
Founder and publisher of, Jeremy is also a contributor to USA Today as well as covers the Mountaineers for Athlon Sports. Follow on Twitter @JSi07
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar