You are here
Home > WVU Basketball > Culver Tabbed Unanimous Selection to All-Big 12 Freshman Team and also named Second Team All-Big 12

Culver Tabbed Unanimous Selection to All-Big 12 Freshman Team and also named Second Team All-Big 12

Irving, Texas – Texas Tech’s Jarrett Culver earned the program’s first Player of the Year honor while Chris Beard was selected Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, headlining the 2018-19 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball awards.

Barry Brown, Jr. (K-State) was named Defensive Player of the Year while Dedric Lawson (Kansas) was voted Newcomer of the Year and Jaxson Hayes (Texas) captured Freshman of the Year. Lindell Wigginton (Iowa State) picked up the Sixth Man Award and Kristian Doolittle (Oklahoma) was voted as the Most Improved Player, a new award presented by the Conference.

Culver helped the Red Raiders to a share of their first Big 12 regular season title. The sophomore guard ranks third in the Big 12 in scoring (18.3 ppg), fifth in assists (3.6) and is 10th in rebounding (6.2).

Brown is recognized as K-State’s defensive stopper and holds the school record in steals. He ranks first in the Big 12 in steals (2.0) and is fifth in scoring (15.1). He helped the Wildcats to a share of their second Big 12 regular season championship.

In his first season with the Jayhawks, Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring (19.1), rebounding (10.6) and double-doubles (20). He is the only player in the Conference averaging a double-double.

True freshman Hayes has started 21 of 30 games for the Longhorns. He leads the Big 12 in field goal percentage (.728), is fourth in blocks (2.2) and free throw percentage (.823), 26th in scoring (10.3) and 13th in rebounds (5.4).

As Iowa State’s first player off the bench, Wigginton is second on the team in scoring (13.4 ppg). An early season injury sidelined him for six weeks. Since regaining his form, the sophomore guard has averaged over 15 points in the last 12 games while shooting 48 percent from the field.

Doolittle has made a much bigger impact for the Sooners during his junior season with 11 ppg and 6.9 rpg while playing in every game with 28 starts. In his sophomore year he started just six games with averages of 2.9 points and 4.3 rebounds.

Beard led Texas Tech to a share of the Big 12 championship in just his third season after tying for second last year. The No. 8 Red Raiders   are currently 26-5 overall and finished 14-4 in league play on a nine-game winning streak.

Culver, Brown and Lawson were unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selections and joined on the first team by Marial Shayok (Iowa State) and Dean Wade (K-State). Wade is the only repeat first team selection from last season.

The official All-Big 12 awards are selected by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.


Press Release credit: Big 12 sports

Photo Credit: Jeff Ruff, BGS

Shanna Rose
WVU Graduate with a bachelor's in journalism and multimedia journalist. Sports Fan and sports writer. Former WVU News reporter. Contact Shanna on Twitter @SMR1837
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar