You are here
Home > WVU Sports > Huggins a Finalist for Jim Phelan Coach of the Year Award

Huggins a Finalist for Jim Phelan Coach of the Year Award

The sixteen finalists have been announced for the 2015 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award. The award is presented annually to the top coach in division I men’s basketball.

The finalists include Dana Altman (Oregon), Tony Bennett (Virginia), Mike Brey (Notre Dame), John Calipari (Kentucky), Jim Engles (NJIT), Mark Few (Gonzaga), Chris Holtmann (Butler), Bob Huggins (West Virginia), Larry Krystkowiak (Utah), Gregg Marshall (Wichita State), Bob McKillop (Davidson), Archie Miller (Dayton), Sean Miller (Arizona), Bo Ryan (Wisconsin), Mark Turgeon (Maryland) and Jay Wright (Villanova).

The award is named in honor of Jim Phelan who coached his entire career at Mount Saint Mary’s University. He led the Mountaineers to the 1962 NCAA Men’s Division II Basketball Championship.

When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in over 1,300 games in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.

The recipient of the 2015 award will be announced at the Awards Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis, site of the 2015 men’s division I basketball championship.


Dana Altman Oregon
Tony Bennett Virginia
Mike Brey Notre Dame
John Calipari Kentucky
Jim Engles NJIT
Mark Few Gonzaga
Chris Holtmann Butler
Bob Huggins West Virginia
Larry Krystkowiak Utah
Gregg Marshall Wichita State
Bob McKillop Davidson
Archie Miller Dayton
Sean Miller Arizona
Bo Ryan Wisconsin
Mark Turgeon Maryland
Jay Wright Villanova
Jeremy Simon
Founder and publisher of, Jeremy is also a contributor to USA Today as well as covers the Mountaineers for Athlon Sports. Follow on Twitter @JSi07
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar