You are here
Home > WVU Sports > Martin named to Naismith Trophy watch list

Martin named to Naismith Trophy watch list


Fifty Candidates Vying for the 2020 Women’s Player of the Year Honor

ATLANTA (November 6, 2019) – Today, the Atlanta Tipoff Club released the 50 players on the Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy Watch List. The midseason 30 team will be announced in early February, and then the competition will be narrowed down to 10 national semifinalists on March 3, 2020. Following those results, four finalists will be named on March 20, 2020, and the winner of the 2020 Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year will be announced on April 4, 2020.

“The competition for the 2020 Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy will heat up as more players enter the competition throughout the season, but these 50 candidates are the early contenders to watch,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We are excited to watch these women play and compete as we have another great year of college basketball ahead.”

Overall, 11 players on the women’s watch list represent the Pac-12, and the Big 12 is a close runner-up with 10 candidates included. Oregon leads the pack with four players followed by Baylor, the 2019 NCAA Women’s Basketball Champion, and UConn, which has won more Citizen Naismith Trophies (10) than any other school with three candidates apiece.

“While only one player can win the Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy, each of the players on the watch list has shown the passion and drive worthy of the honor thus far,” said Eric Horowitz, managing director U.S. and travel retail, Citizen Watch Company of America, Inc. “We are looking forward to watching them continue to compete for the title of Women’s Player of the Year.”

2020 Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy Watch List

Bella AlarieSr. G/FPrincetonIVY
Shakira AustinSo.FMarylandBig Ten
Elizabeth BalogunSo.GLouisvilleACC
Erin BoleyJr.FOregonPac-12
Brittany BrewerSr. FTexas Tech Big 12 
DiJonai CarringtonSr.GStanford Pac-12
Chennedy CarterJr. GTexas A&M SEC
Kaila CharlesSr.GMarylandBig Ten
Shay ColleySr.GMichigan StateBig Ten
Te’a CooperSr.GBaylorBig 12 
Lauren CoxSr.FBaylorBig 12 
Elissa CunaneSo.CNC StateACC 
Jordan DanberrySr.GMississippi State SEC 
Crystal DangerfieldSr.GUConnAAC
Rennia DavisJr. G/FTennesseeSEC 
Japreece DeanSr.GUCLAPac-12
Chelsea DungeeJr. GArkansasSEC 
Kiah GillespieSr.FFSUACC
Haley Gorecki Sr.GDukeACC 
Vivian GrayJr. FOklahoma StateBig 12 
Ae’Rianna HarrisSr.FPurdueBig Ten
Tyasha HarrisSr.GSouth CarolinaSEC 
Ruthy HebardSr. FOregonPac-12
Naz HillmonSo.FMichiganBig Ten
Joyner HolmesSr.FTexas  Big 12 
Rhyne HowardSo.GKentucky SEC 
Sabrina Ionescu Sr. GOregonPac-12
Stella JohnsonSr.GRiderMAAC
Aislinn KonigSr.GNC StateACC 
Juicy LandrumSr.GBaylorBig 12 
Tynice MartinSr.GWest VirginiaBig 12 
Aari McDonaldJr. GArizonaPac-12
Ayana MitchellSr.FLSU SEC 
Beatrice MompremierSr.FMiamiACC
Erica OgwumikeSr.GRiceC-USA
Michaela OnyenwereJr. FUCLAPac-12
Ali PatbergJr. GIndianaBig Ten
Mikayla PivecSr.GOregon State Pac-12
Satou Sabally Jr. FOregonPac-12
Shadeen SamuelsSr.FSeton Hall BIG EAST
Kristin Scott Jr. F/CIowa StateBig 12 
Destiny SlocumJr. GOregon State Pac-12
Amber SmithSr.GMissouriSEC 
Chante StonewallSr.FDePaulBIG EAST
Sug SuttonSr.GTexas Big 12 
Megan WalkerJr. FUConnAAC
Peyton WilliamsSr.FKansas State Big 12 
Kiana WilliamsJr. GStanford Pac-12
Christyn WilliamsSo.GUConnAAC
Kay Kay WrightSr.GUCF AAC


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Citizen Watch Company, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Citizen, a pioneer in watchmaking and innovation since 1918, promotes excellence and creativity with a deep-rooted respect for craftsmanship. Citizen advocates “Better Starts Now,” searching for and accomplishing goals that cultivate positive change. Driven to create timepieces enjoyed by citizens all over the world, Citizen formed an alliance partnership with Disney in 2018, another powerhouse brand with similar values. With a long-term partnership in place, Citizen participates in activations surrounding the Disney Parks, Marvel, Star Wars and more. Citizen is the Official Timepiece of both Walt Disney World and Disneyland with branded clocks in both theme parks.

For over 40 years, Citizen’s Eco-Drive technology has served as the prime example of how the brand is dedicated to making the world and its environment a better place. A simple yet revolutionary concept, Eco-Drive harnesses the power of light from any natural or artificial light source and converts it into energy, eliminating the need for any battery replacement.

Press Release Credit: Atlanta Tipoff Club

Cover Photo Credit: WVU Sports

Shanna Rose
WVU Graduate with a bachelor's in journalism and multimedia journalist. Sports Fan and sports writer. Former WVU News reporter. Contact Shanna on Twitter @SMR1837
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar