You are here
Home > WVU Football > Mountaineers on Hall of Fame Ballot

Mountaineers on Hall of Fame Ballot

The Big 12 Conference landed six schools with nominees on the 2016 ballot for the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame.

Big 12 representatives are:77Mike-Compton_

Michael Bishop – Kansas State

Mike Compton – West Virginia 

Kenneth Davis – TCU

Troy Davis – Iowa State

Bob McKay – Texas

Jim Carlen – West Virginia & Texas Tech 


The 2016 class will be announced on January 8, 2016 in Scottsdale, Arizona. The University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale will serve as the home for the College Football National Championship Game played on January 8.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

More on the candidates:

Michael Bishop, Kansas State-Quarterback-1998 consensus First Team All-American and winner of the Davey O’Brien Award…1998 Heisman Trophy runner-up who led Cats to 1998 Big 12 North title and berth in conference championship…Set 14 conference and 34 school records and boasts longest pass play in K-State history (97 yards).

Mike Compton, West Virginia-Center-1992 consensus First Team All-American and finalist for the Lombardi Trophy…Led Mountaineers to 1989 Gator Bowl berth and was twice named a First Team All-Big East selection…Permanent team captain and three-year starter who also earned Academic All-America honors.

Kenneth Davis, TCU-Running Back-1984 unanimous First Team All-American who finished fifth in Heisman Trophy voting…Led the nation in yards per carry (7.6) and ranked second nationally in rushing yards (1,611) in 1984…1984 Southwest Conference Offensive Player of the Year who boasted nine 100-yard games in career.

Troy Davis, Iowa State-Tailback-Two-time consensus First Team All-American and two-time Heisman Trophy finalist…First player in NCAA history to rush for more than 2,000 yards in two seasons…1996 Big 12 Player of the Year who holds nearly every rushing record at Iowa State.

Bob McKay, Texas-Offensive Tackle-1969 consensus First Team All-American who helped Longhorns to national championship and unbeaten season at Cotton Bowl in senior season…Member of two SWC championship teams and 1969 all-conference selection.

Coach Jim Carlen-West Virginia (1966-69), Texas Tech (1970-74), South Carolina (1975-1981)-Led teams to eight bowl games and 13 winning seasons in 16 years as head coach…1973 National Coach of the Year…Three-time Southwest Conference Coach of the Year… Coached Heisman Trophy winner George Rogers at South Carolina.


jerry McGhee
Lead recruiting analyst covering the West Virginia Mountaineers for
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar