You are here
Home > Big 12 > Oscar Tshiebwe, Derek Culver Earn Big 12 Preseason Awards

Oscar Tshiebwe, Derek Culver Earn Big 12 Preseason Awards

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. – (October 28, 2020) — Oscar Tshiebwe and Derek Culver were recognized by the Big 12 on Wednesday afternoon for preseason awards.

Tshiebwe was voted on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team. The 6’9″ sophomore led WVU in points last season with 11.2.

Culver was selected as an honorable mention. The junior averaged 10.4 points and 8.6 rebounds last season for the Mountaineers.

Full awards that were released today by the conference:

Preseason Player of the Year – Jared Butler, Baylor (16.0, 3.2, 3.1)

Preseason Newcomer of the Year – Marcus Santos-Silva, Texas Tech (12.8, 8.9, 0.9 @VCU)

Preseason Freshman of the Year – Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State (No.1-ranked player in the class of 2020)

Preseason All-Big 12 Team

  • Jared Butler, Baylor
  • Marcus Garrett, Kansas
  • Austin Reaves, Oklahoma
  • Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State
  • Matt Coleman III, Texas
  • Oscar Tshiebwe, West Virginia

Jared Butler and Marcus Garrett received unanimous selections.

There were six players awarded due to a tie between two.

Honorable Mentions

  • MaCio Teague, Baylor
  • Mark Vital, Baylor
  • Greg Brown III, Texas
  • Courtney Ramey, Texas
  • Jericho Sims, Texas
  • Kyler Edwards, Texas Tech
  • Mac McClung, Texas Tech
  • Derek Culver, West Virginia

The Big 12 Preseason Poll will be announced tomorrow.

Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar