You are here
Home > Womens Sports > Press Release: Brewster Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Press Release: Brewster Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (Jan. 28, 2021) – Junior defender Jordan Brewster of the West Virginia University women’s soccer team has been named to the 2020-21 Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List, as announced by the United Soccer Coaches on Thursday.

Brewster lands on the list for the first time in her career after leading the Mountaineers to a 7-2 mark in the Big 12 Conference last fall. The North Canton, Ohio, native was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year in November.

With the honor, at least one Mountaineer has been named to the award’s watch list in each of the last 10 seasons, including 2016 Hermann Trophy recipient Kadeisha Buchanan. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year.

Brewster becomes the 13th different Mountaineer to be named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List. WVU has had 19 total selections on the list, including nine semifinalists in its 25-year history.

Brewster, a 2020 co-captain, started all nine games for the Mountaineers last fall, totaling four points (1G, 2A) in 830 minutes played. She also anchored a WVU back line, which finished in the top-20 nationally in goals-against average (.868) and earned a pair of shutouts.

Brewster’s two assists tied for a team high during the fall campaign. Defensively, she led West Virginia in holding opponents to just 50 shots – 5.6 per match – last fall. Of those, only 26 attempts were shots on goal. Additionally, she earned All-Big 12 First Team honors this season, to go along with her second-team accolades in 2018 and 2019.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy at the end of April based on voting by Division I coaches. From those candidates, three finalists will be determined for the coveted award.

This year’s award was pushed back to accommodate the seasons affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. Winners will be announced May 27, at the 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy Press Conference and Banquet taking place at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Missouri.

The Mountaineers will return to action this spring, following the NCAA’s approval to move fall championships to spring 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Press Release Courtesy of West Virginia University Athletics Communications

Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar