You are here
Home > WVU Basketball > Staten Candidate For Senior CLASS Award

Staten Candidate For Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (January 23, 2015) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, 27 have grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Three of this year’s candidates were 2013-14 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and four are returning All-Americans. More than 20 of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

For more information on each of the candidates, visit

# # # #

Men’s Basketball Candidates

Alex Barlow, Butler

Reece Chamberlain, Belmont

Corey Petros, Oakland

Ishaq Pitt, U. of Maryland – Eastern Shore

Michael Cobbins, Oklahoma State

Normal Powell, UCLA

Pat Connaughton, Notre Dame

Chasson Randle, Stanford

Justin Gant, Indiana State

Levi Randolph, Alabama

Seth Gearhart, Rice

Josh Richardson, Tennessee

Jordan Green, Texas A&M

Luke Roh, Colgate

Ryann Green, Georgia State

Corey Schaefer, Lehigh

D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s

John Schoof, American

Tyler Haws, Brigham Young

Matt Stainbrook, Xavier

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin

Juwan Staten, West Virginia

Ashton Moore, The Citadel

Matt Townsend, Yale

Khufu Najee, IUPUI

Thomas van der Mars, Portland

D.J. Newbill, Penn State

Cameron Wright, Pittsburgh

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga

Max Yon, Air Force

Women’s Basketball Candidates

Sunejiro Agbuke, Baylor

Samantha Logic, Iowa

Sharane Campbell-Olds, Oklahoma

Ally Malott, Dayton

Audrey Dotson, Bucknell

Chakecia Miller, George Washington

Ariana Elegado, Cal Poly

Lexie Nelson, Eastern Washington

Nicole Elmblad, Michigan

Sabina Oroszova, Eastern Illinois

Nneka Enemkpali, Texas

Amber Orrange, Stanford

Alexis Govan, Western Kentucky

Megan Rogowski, DePaul

Ashlee Guay, CSUN

Heidi Schlegel, Youngstown State

Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee

Haley Seibert, IPFW

Alexa Hayward, St. Francis

Jama Sharp, Stetson

Emiliy Homan, Lafayette

Kiah Stokes, Connecticut

Andrea Hoover, Dayton

Shawnee Sweeney, Maryland–East. Shore

Jamie Kaplan, Tulane

Elizabeth Williams, Duke

Sina King, Akron

Michelle Young, Bradley

Anna Claire Knight, Georgia Southern

Inma Zanoguera, Toledo

jerry McGhee
Lead recruiting analyst covering the West Virginia Mountaineers for
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar