You are here
Home > WVU Football > Three Mountaineers Named to Wuerffel Award Watch List

Three Mountaineers Named to Wuerffel Award Watch List

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (July 23, 2020) – West Virginia University football senior safety Sean Mahone, junior quarterback Jarret Doege and redshirt sophomore wide receiver Sam James were named to the Wuerffel Trophy Award Watch List as announced by the organization.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.

All three are WVU football accountability teams leaders and are involved in team community service initiatives. Activities that these players and their teammates could be involved in include visiting their friends at the WVU Medicine Children’s on a regular basis and serving as mentors, assisting the Mountaineer Day of Play to encourage an active and healthy lifestyle for children, reading at schools, community cleanup days, building and repairing houses for people in the community and serving as a Big Brother just to name a few of their activities.

Mahone, an Academic All-Big 12 First Team honoree, started 12 games at Cat Safety in 2019. He led the WVU defense with 80 tackles, including 42 unassisted tackles, two sacks, five tackles for loss, one forced fumble, one interception and one pass breakup. He ranked No. 12 in the Big 12 in tackles per game and finished with a career-high 15 tackles, including a tackle for loss against Texas Tech. He also had a then-career-high nine tackles at Baylor, including a forced fumble and his first career sack.

Doege played in four games in his first year at West Virginia after transferring from Bowling Green. He connected on 79-of-120 passes for 818 yards and seven touchdowns, leading the Mountaineers to victories in two of their last three games of the 2019 season. He completed 28 passes for 307 yards against Oklahoma State, was 20-of-35 for 158 yards and two touchdowns at TCU and was 20-of-30 for 234 yards and three touchdowns at Kansas State.

James started all 12 games at wide receiver as a redshirt freshman and earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors. He also is listed on several Big 12 preseason all-conference teams heading into the 2020 season. Last year, James led the Mountaineers with 69 receptions for 677 yards and two touchdowns. He ranked No. 33 nationally and No. 3 in the Big 12 in receptions per game (5.8) and was No. 10 in the conference in receiving yards per game (56.4). He finished with a career-high 14 catches for 223 yards against Texas Tech and had nine catches for 155 yards and a touchdown against NC State.

A current list of nominees can be found at beginning on August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on November 3 and finalists will be announced on November 23.

The formal announcement of the 2020 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation’s festivities in New York City on December 8. The presentation of the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 52nd All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 19, 2021 in Fort Walton Beach.

Past recipients of the award are: Rudy Niswanger – LSU – 2005; Joel Penton – Ohio State

–  2006; Paul Smith – Tulsa – 2008; Tim Tebow – Florida – 2008; Tim Hiller – Western Michigan – 2009; Sam Acho – Texas – 2010; Barrett Jones – Alabama – 2011; Matt Barkley – USC – 2012; Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma – 2013; Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss – 2014; Ty Darlington – Oklahoma – 2015; Trevor Knight – Texas A&M – 2016; Courtney Love – Kentucky – 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame – 2018; Jon Wassink – Western Michigan – 2019.

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by Chick-fil-A® and is also supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.

Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar