You are here
Home > WVU Basketball > Tshiebwe Named to 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Watch List

Tshiebwe Named to 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Watch List

ATLANTA (November 19, 2020) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Watch List, which includes the 2020 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy winner, Cade Cunningham, now a freshman at Oklahoma State University, the 2020 Naismith Men’s Defensive Player of the Year winner, Marcus Garrett from Kansas, and Iowa’s Luka Garza, who was a finalist for the 2020 Men’s Player of the Year honor. Gonzaga leads the 50-player watch list with four players included on the list, followed by Duke, which has won more Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophies (8) than any other school. Seven schools have two players represented include Baylor, Illinois, Kentucky, LSU, North Carolina, Stanford and Villanova. Overall, the ACC and Big Ten top the list, each with eight players represented, while the Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC are close runners-up with six candidates on the watch list.

“The beginning of the season is filled with excitement, optimism and anticipation as each team and every player is undefeated, making the race for the Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy wide open. While these 50 candidates are those to keep an eye on, there will be plenty of others who will enter the competition throughout the season,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “This year will be especially exciting as players who were unable to finish their seasons last year have even more to prove.”

A list of the midseason 30 team will be released in early February, followed by the 10 national semifinalists and four finalists on March 4, 2021, and March 16, 2021, respectively. Players who do not make the watch list are still eligible to be selected for the midseason 30 team. The 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy will be awarded during the Final Four at the Naismith Awards Brunch on April 4, 2021. 

“As we sponsor the collegiate honor for the first year, Jersey Mike’s is excited to partner with the Naismith Trophy,” said Rich Hope, chief marketing officer, Jersey Mike’s Franchise Systems, Inc. “We look forward to following these stellar athletes throughout the season and honoring one of these talented players as the winner of the 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy.”

2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Men’s Preseason Watch List

Joel Ayayi Jr.GGonzagaWCC
Scottie Barnes Fr.GFlorida State ACC
Charles Bassey Jr.CWestern KentuckyC-USA
B.J. BostonFr.FKentucky SEC
James BouknightSo.GUConnBIG EAST 
Garrison Brooks Sr.FNorth Carolina ACC
Greg BrownFr.FTexasBig 12
Jared ButlerJr.GBaylorBig 12
Marcus CarrJr.GMinnesotaBig Ten 
Terrence Clarke Fr.GKentucky SEC
Kofi CockburnSo.CIllinoisBig Ten 
Jalen CrutcherSr.GDaytonA-10
Cade CunninghamFr.GOklahoma StateBig 12
Oscar da SilvaSr.FStanfordPac-12
Ayo DosunmuJr.GIllinoisBig Ten 
Marcus GarrettSr.GKansasBig 12
Luka GarzaSr.CIowaBig Ten
Collin GillespieSr.GVillanovaBIG EAST
Kellan GradySr.GDavidsonA-10
A.J. GreenJr.GNorthern IowaMVC
Sam HauserSr.FVirginiaACC
Aaron HenryJr.FMichigan StateBig Ten
Matthew HurtSo.FDukeACC
Trayce Jackson-DavisSo.FIndianaBig Ten
Jalen JohnsonFr.FDukeACC
Keyontae JohnsonJr.FFloridaSEC
David JohnsonSo.GLouisvilleACC
Corey KispertSr.FGonzagaWCC
Isaiah LiversSr.FMichiganBig Ten
Caleb LoveFr.GNorth CarolinaACC
Sandro MamukelashviliSr.FSeton HallBIG EAST
Remy MartinSr.GArizona StatePac-12
Caleb MillsSo.GHoustonAAC
Evan MobleyFr.FUSCPac-12
Wendell Moore Jr.So.FDukeACC
Yves PonsSr.GTennesseeSEC
Jeremiah Robinson-EarlSo.FVillanovaBIG EAST
Colbey RossSr.GPepperdineWCC
Fatts RussellSr.GRhode IslandA-10
Javonte SmartJr.GLSUSEC
Chris SmithSr.GUCLAPac-12
Jalen SuggsFr.GGonzagaWCC
MaCio TeagueSr.GBaylorBig 12
Drew TimmeSo.FGonzagaWCC
Oscar TshiebweSo.FWest VirginiaBig 12
Trendon WatfordSo.FLSUSEC
Trevion WilliamsJr.FPurdueBig Ten
Ziaire WilliamsFr.FStanfordPac-12
McKinley Wright IVSr.GColoradoPac-12
Marcus ZegarowskiJr.GCreightonBIG EAST
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar