You are here
Home > WVU Basketball > Tshiebwe Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List

Tshiebwe Named to Karl Malone Award Watch List

Springfield, Mass. (Nov. 5, 2020) — The Naismith Memorial BasketballHall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone,the annual honor in its seventh year recognizes the top power forwards inDivision I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top collegebasketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“The Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to annually acknowledge the best in the collegiate game with positional awards bearing the names of some of the greatest Hall of Famers of all time,” said John L. Doleva, Presidentand CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “To be named to the watchlist of the Naismith Starting Five is a great honor and I know our Hall of Famers sincerely enjoy the opportunity to watch these players compete. We thank Mr. Malone for his unwavering support over the years and the unique perspective he brings to ultimately selecting a winner.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximityto his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to aSweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his threeseasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Maloneachieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-timeNBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player(1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Karl Malone PowerForward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In late February,five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’sselection committee.

The winner of the 2021 Karl Malone Award will be presented on Friday,April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. 

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Awardinclude Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017),Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information on the 2021 Karl Malone Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, November 6.

2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates* 

Mark VitalBaylor
Aamir SimmsClemson
Matthew HurtDuke
Drew TimmeGonzaga
Trayce Jackson-DavisIndiana
Isaiah JacksonKentucky
Trendon WatfordLSU
Tre MitchellMassachusetts
Garrison BrooksNorth Carolina
Seth TownsOhio State
Brady ManekOklahoma
Hasahn FrenchSaint Louis
Sandro MamukelashviliSeton Hall
Oscar da SilvaStanford
John FulkersonTennessee
Greg BrownTexas
Kevin MarfoTexas A&M
Jeremiah Robinson-EarlVillanova
Oscar TshiebweWest Virginia
Nate ReuversWisconsin

Tshiebwe Named to Karl Malone Award Watch Lis*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the2020-2021 season*

Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar