You are here
Home > WVU Sports > Tyler Orlosky Named to Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

Tyler Orlosky Named to Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

Tyler                              Orlosky
#65 Orlosky roster photo

Morgantown, W.Va.– West Virginia’s junior center Tyler Orlosky was awarded a spot today on the 2015 Rimington Trophy watch list, which includes 63 of the best centers in Division I football.

The players selected had a productive 2014 season and are predicted to excel in the upcoming 2015-2016 season. Therefore, as the season plays out, the list will be narrowed down to the finalists, which will be announced on December 7, 2015.

During the 2014 season, Orlosky was named to the Academic All-Big 12 Second Team. He started all 13 games, where he helped pave the way for the offense when he was used in 1,089 offensive snaps. The offense averaged 499.8 yards per game of total offense, 33.5 points per game, 182.8 rushing yards and 317.0 passing yards.


Photo Courtesy of

The Trophy committee will use the consensus of three All-America football teams to determine the winner:

  • Walter-Camp Foundation
  • Sporting News
  • Football Writers Association of America

The Rimington Trophy committee’s policy is to consider players who primarily play at their team’s center position, and the center who has the most first team votes will be determined the winner.  In the instance of a tie with first team votes, the center with the most second team votes will win. If that does not break the tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The Rimington Trophy presentation will be held at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday January 16, 2016.

About the Trophy:

The Rimington Trophy is part of the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) which contains 21 of the most prestigious awards in college football. The Rimington trophy is named after Dave Rimington, who was a first-team All-American center from the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982. During that time, he became the only double winner of the John Outland Trophy, which names the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

The Boomer Esiason Foundation, founded by Rimington’s former Bengal’s teammate, became the sponsor for the Trophy. The BEF foundation was founded after Esiason’s son was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis, and the foundation made its goal to find a cure. Since the first award in 2000, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for cystic fibrosis.

More information on the Rimington Trophy can be found at


Featured Photo Courtesy of BGS. 


Shanna Rose
WVU Graduate with a bachelor's in journalism and multimedia journalist. Sports Fan and sports writer. Former WVU News reporter. Contact Shanna on Twitter @SMR1837
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar