You are here
Home > WVU Sports > WVU Remains 6 Seed Despite Loss

WVU Remains 6 Seed Despite Loss

Despite the losing two straight the Mountaineers remain a 6th seed in the South region according to USA Today.

1 Kentucky 1 Villanova
16 Play-in Bucknell/St. Francis Brooklyn 16 South Dakota State
8 Michigan State 8 Oklahoma State
9 Dayton 9 Georgia
5 Northern Iowa 5 Butler
12 Wofford 12 Iona
4 Notre Dame 4 Arkansas
13 Harvard 13 Valparaiso
3 Baylor 3 Iowa State
14 N.C. Central 14 UC Davis
11 Ole Miss 11 Temple
7 Colorado State 7 San Diego State
10 St. John’s 10 Purdue
2 Wisconsin 2 Arizona
15 Albany 15 Texas Southern
1 Virginia 1 Duke
16 Play-in Georgia Southern/N. Florida 16 Northeastern
8 Ohio State 8 LSU
9 Xavier 9 Iowa
5 North Carolina 5 Louisville
12 Murray State 12 Play-in: Oregon/Davidson
4 Utah 4 Wichita State
13 Louisiana Tech 13 Stephen F. Austin
3 Oklahoma 3 Maryland
14 New Mexico State 14 Central Michigan
6 Providence 6 WVU
11 Play-in: Tulsa/Boise State 11 Cincinnati
7 Indiana 7 Georgetown
10 N.C. State 10 Texas A&M
2 Gonzaga 2 Kansas
15 Eastern Washington 15 High Point

Last 4 in: Boise State, Tulsa, Oregon, Davidson First 4 out: BYU, Texas, Stanford, UCLA Moving in: North Florida, Northeastern, Boise State, Davidson Moving out: FGCU, William & Mary, Texas, Stanford Others considered: Pittsburgh, Old Dominion, Illinois, Kansas State, Miami (Fla.) No longer considered: Rutgers, Georgia Tech, California, Loyola (Chicago), UTEP, Marquette, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, Colorado, Evansville, Syracuse (self-imposed ban), New Mexico, Richmond, Louisiana Tech, Nebraska, UNLV, Memphis, Florida, Washington, Oregon State, Tennessee, Clemson, Michigan, Wyoming, George Washington, Minnesota, UConn, Green Bay, Seton Hall, Alabama, St. Mary’s, UMass, Rhode Island Multi-bid conferences: Big Ten (7), ACC (6), Big 12 (6), Big East (6), SEC (6), AAC (4),  A-10 (3), Mountain West (3), Pac-12 (3), MVC (2). Conference leaders from projected 1-bid conferences (22 total): Albany (America East), North Florida (Atlantic Sun), Eastern Washington (Big Sky), High Point (Big South), UC Davis (Big West), Northeastern (CAA), Louisiana Tech (Conference USA), Valparaiso (Horizon), Harvard (Ivy), Iona (MAAC), Central Michigan (Mid-American), North Carolina Central (MEAC), St. Francis Brooklyn (NEC), Murray State (Ohio Valley), Bucknell (Patriot), Wofford (Southern), Stephen F. Austin (Southland), South Dakota State (Summit),  Georgia Southern (Sun Belt), Texas Southern (SWAC), New Mexico State (WAC), Gonzaga (WCC).

Jeremy Simon
Founder and publisher of, Jeremy is also a contributor to USA Today as well as covers the Mountaineers for Athlon Sports. Follow on Twitter @JSi07
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar