You are here
Home > WVU Sports > WVU safety Karl Joseph wins Herbie Award for Unsung Warrior

WVU safety Karl Joseph wins Herbie Award for Unsung Warrior

Kirk Herbstreit (Photo Credit: Stephen Santilli)
Kirk Herbstreit (Photo Credit: Stephen Santilli)

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.–One West Virginia University football star received some love from ESPN football analyst Kirk Herbstreit on Thursday.

Herbstreit announced his 15th annual Herbie Award candidates and winners and WVU safety Karl Joseph was the winner of the Unsung Warrior award.

The 5-foot-11, 197-pound senior won the honor over Kendell Beckwith, LSU; Glenn Gronkowski, Kansas State; Ryan Kelly, Alabama; and Derek Watt, Wisconsin.

Joseph was a team captain in 2014 and was the Mountaineers’ second-leading tackler with 92 tackles, including 62 solo stops and 4.5 tackles for loss. He also forced three fumbles and had an interception.

Joseph was named to an All-Big 12 Conference First Team selection by coaches and and was an All-Big 12 Conference Second Team selection by Phil Steele and The Associated Press.

Fans can watch the Herbies Preseason Special on Thursday, Aug. 27, at 6 p.m. ET on ESPN2 and WatchESPN.

The Enforcer

Nominees: Jamal Adams, LSU; Nate Andrews, Florida State; Su’a Cravens, USC; Darron Lee, Ohio State; Ryan Simmons, Oklahoma State

Winner: Darron Lee

Best Pass-Rusher

Nominees: Joey Bosa, Ohio State; Kamalei Correa, Boise State; Myles Garrett, Texas A&M; Curt Maggitt, Tennessee; Scooby Wright III, Arizona

Winner: Joey Bosa

Welcome to the Party

Nominees: Mike Bercovici, Arizona State; Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama; Jeremy Johnson, Auburn; Jabrill Peppers, Michigan; Malik Zaire, Notre Dame

Winner: Jeremy Johnson

Throwback Player

Nominees: Joey Bosa, Ohio State;  Nick Chubb, Georgia; Myles Jack, UCLA; Bronson Kaufusi, BYU; Scooby Wright III, Arizona

Winner: Joey Bosa

Top Cover Men

Nominees: Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech; Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida; Jalen Ramsey, Florida State; KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame; Tre’Davious White, LSU

Winner: Kendall Fuller

Best-Kept Secret

Nominees:  Jeremy Cash, Duke; Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky; O.J. Howard, Alabama; Kolby Listenbee, TCU; Christian McCaffrey, Stanford

Winner: Brandon Doughty

Ultimate Game-Changer

Nominees: Corey Coleman, Baylor; Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State; Leonard Fournette, LSU; Samaje Perine, Oklahoma; Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Winner: Ezekiel Elliott

Ultimate Herbie

Nominees: D.J. Foster, Arizona State; Joshua Perry, Ohio State; Joe Schmidt, Notre Dame; Sterling Shepard, Oklahoma; Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss

Winner: Joe Schmidt

Breakout Star

Nominees: Corey Clement, Wisconsin; Jalen Hurd, Tennessee; Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State; Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State; Seth Russell, Baylor

Winner: Seth Russell

Unsung Warrior

Nominees: Kendell Beckwith, LSU; Glenn Gronkowski, Kansas State; Karl Joseph, West Virginia; Ryan Kelly, Alabama; Derek Watt, Wisconsin

Winner: Karl Joseph


Most Exciting Player

Nominees: Corey Coleman, Baylor; D.J. Foster, Arizona State; Braxton Miller, Ohio State; Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech; JuJu Smith-Schuster, USC

Winner: Justin Thomas

Looks the Part

Nominees: Leonard Fournette, LSU; Myles Jack, UCLA ; Darron Lee, Ohio State; Marquez North, Tennessee; Shawn Oakman, Baylor

Winner: Shawn Oakman

Conference Winners

Big Ten: Ohio State Buckeyes over Wisconsin Badgers
Big 12: Oklahoma Sooners
SEC: LSU Tigers over Tennessee Volunteers
ACC: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets over Florida State Seminoles
Pac-12: Arizona State Sun Devils over Stanford Cardinal

College Football Playoff Teams

Ohio State Buckeyes
LSU Tigers
Oklahoma Sooners
Arizona State Sun Devils

National Champion

Ohio State Buckeyes

Shanna Rose
WVU Graduate with a bachelor's in journalism and multimedia journalist. Sports Fan and sports writer. Former WVU News reporter. Contact Shanna on Twitter @SMR1837
Similar Articles

One thought on “WVU safety Karl Joseph wins Herbie Award for Unsung Warrior

Comments are closed.

Skip to toolbar