Friday, October 21, 2016
Bria Holmes (Photo Credit: Charleston Gazette)

Bria Holmes
(Photo Credit: Charleston Gazette)

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.—The West Virginia University women’s basketball team begins a 10-day European tour on Wednesday, where the Mountaineers will play in four games.

On their journey, WVU will visit several cultural sites in Barcelona, London and Madrid.

Like the men, the women’s basketball team is allowed to take one overseas trip every four years. This includes 10 practices and four games.

The Mountaineers went to the finals of the WNIT before losing a heartbreaker 62-60 to UCLA last season, but only five members of that team return.

Unanimous All-Big 12 selection and All-American mention Bria Holmes returns for coach Mike Carey’s squad. The senior guard averaged 18.8 points per game, 4.4 rebounds, 2.76 assists and 1.53 steals.

Junior Lanay Montgomery also returns for WVU. She was the Big 12’s leading shot-blocker last season and ranked fifth in the conference in rebounds, averaging 7.7 per game.

Sophomore Teana Muldrow, senior Jessica Morton and senior Kayla Montgomery also have playing experience from last year.

The extra practices and games should benefit the Mountaineers vastly.

WVU has 11 newcomers on this year’s team, including Florida State transfer Chania Ray. The sophomore guard averaged 5.7 minutes with the Seminoles in six games before sitting out the 2015 spring semester. ESPN HoopGurlz rated her as the 25th-best player at her position out of high school in 2014.

Other newcomers include transfers Arielle Roberson (Colorado) and Desiree Rhodes (Wabash Valley College). Coach Carey’s squad also welcomes eight freshmen.

The Mountaineers will play their first game in London against Barking Abbey on Saturday, August 5, at 1 p.m. ET. On Monday, WVU will travel to Barcelona and take on the Catalan All-Stars in a pair of games. They will conclude the tour on Thursday, August 13 against Hola Madrid.

The Mountaineers toured France and Italy in 2007 and Australia in 2011. Both seasons WVU made an NCAA Tournament appearance.


2015 Europen Tour Schedule

Saturday, August 8- 6 p.m. BST/ 1 p.m. ET

WVU vs. Barking Abbey (London, England)


Monday, August 10- 7 p.m. CET/ 1 p.m. ET

WVU vs. Catalan All-Stars (Sant Julia de Vilatorta Barcelona, Spain)


Tuesday, August 11- 7 p.m. CET/ 1 p.m. ET

WVU vs. Catalan All-Stars (Sant Julia de Vilatorta Barcelona, Spain)


Thursday, August 13- 8 p.m. CET/ 2 p.m. ET

WVU vs C.R.E.F Hola Madrid (Madrid, Spain)



Related Posts

WVU’s defense faces another challenge against TCU
Holgorsen looks to maintain winning momentum for Mountaineers
Meet WVU’s opponent: TCU comes to town again