You are here
Home > WVU Sports > WVU’s Orlosky named to Outland Trophy watch list

WVU’s Orlosky named to Outland Trophy watch list

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.– West Virginia University center Tyler Orlosky was one of 70 interior lineman named to the 2016 Outland Trophy watch list by the Football Writers Association of America on Friday.

The accolade is presented to the top interior lineman on either side of the ball. The list includes 22 offensive tackles, 20 offensive guards, 17 defensive tackles and 11 centers from 10 of the FBS conferences and can be trimmed or enlarged as the season progresses.

Orlosky was named the top center in the nation coming into the 2016 season, by USA Today and has earned spots on various All-American and All-Big 12 Conference teams by preseason publications.

The 6-foot-4, 295-pound senior was an All-Big 12 Second Team member and started all 13 games for WVU last season. He saw action on more than 1,000 plays and helped the offense average 479.7 yards per game of total offense, 34.0 points, 228.2 rushing yards and 251.5 passing yards.

The Mountaineers’ offense ranked No. 17 nationally in rushing offense, No. 18 in first down offense and No. 23 in total offense.

Orlosky graded out 90 percent or better in all 13 games last season.

The Cleveland, Ohio native was named to the Rimington Trophy Fall watch list.

The Big 12 conference has six representatives on the Outland Trophy watch list.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced on live on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 11, 2017, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Oklahoma’s Greg Roberts, the 1978 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. In addition, former Oklahoma coach Barry Switzer, will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.


Cover Photo Credit: Kelsie VanderWijst, BGS

Shanna Rose
WVU Graduate with a bachelor's in journalism and multimedia journalist. Sports Fan and sports writer. Former WVU News reporter. Contact Shanna on Twitter @SMR1837
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar