Sunday, August 18, 2019

WVU’s Orlosky named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List

Tyler Orlosky was one of 57 centers named to the Rimington Watch List on Tuesday.  (Photo Credit: Shanna Rose, BGS)

Tyler Orlosky was one of 57 centers named to the Rimington Watch List on Tuesday.
(Photo Credit: Shanna Rose, BGS)

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.–West Virginia University’s Tyler Orlosky was named to the 2016 Rimington Trophy Watch List on Tuesday. The award is presented annually to college football’s most outstanding center.

Orlosky started 13 games last season. He was named an All-Big 12 Second Team member.

The junior center helped the Mountaineers’ offense average 479.7 yards per game of total offense, 34.0 points, 228.2 rushing yards and 251.5 passing yards. WVU ranked No. 17 nationally in rushing offense, No. 18 in first down offense and No. 23 in total offense.

The 6-foot-4, 295-pound Orlosky graded out 90 percent or better in all 13 games last season and is one of only two returning all-conference offensive linemen from 2015 and is the only returning Big 12 lineman listed on the final ranking of the Schneider Scale (ranked the best 25 lineman in the nation used for the Outland Trophy).

The Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for cystic fibrosis. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Tyler Orlosky (65) watches during WVU's spring practice. (Photo Credit: Kelsie VanderWijst, BGS)

Tyler Orlosky (65) watches during WVU’s spring practice.
(Photo Credit: Kelsie VanderWijst, BGS)

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses the Walter Camp Foundation (WCF), Sporting News (SN) and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) to determine a winner.

The center with the most first-team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 14, 2017.

Related Posts

WVU’s Josh Chandler has ability to be a household name
WVU’s Adam Stilley hoping to defy the odds
Neal Brown talks Mountaineer football on The Jim Rome Show
Skip to toolbar