You are here
Home > WVU Sports > WVU’s Skyler Howard named to Davey O’Brien Award watch list

WVU’s Skyler Howard named to Davey O’Brien Award watch list

26167121866_de67c261fa_zMORGANTOWN, W.Va.– West Virginia University senior quarterback Skyler Howard was named to the 2016 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award watch list on Thursday.

Howard was one of 30 of the nation’s top college quarterbacks unveiled by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

The watch list is based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2016 college football season. All nominees must have started in at least one game at their school.

During the 2015 season, Howard completed 221-of-403 passes for 3,145 yards and 26 touchdowns. He was the Cactus Bowl Offensive MVP after a stellar 532 yards and five touchdown performance in the 43-42 victory over Arizona State.

The Fort Worth, Texas native was an All-Big 12 Conference Academic Second-Team selection and has been named to the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

Reigning Davey O’Brien Award winner, Clemson’s DeShaun Watson, headlines the list.

The Big 12 has five representatives on the list including Patrick Mahomet II (Texas Tech), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State), Seth Russell (Baylor) and Howard.

Nearly half (14) of the players on the watch list are seniors, while 11 juniors and five sophomores are nominated.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 128 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Thursday, Nov. 10. From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 22. The 2016 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced live Thursday, Dec. 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 40th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 20, 2017, in Fort Worth, Texas.

For the 10th year, fans are invited to participate in the voting process at Results from the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote will be combined with the ballots from the Selection Committee. Fan voting, which accounts for five percent of the total balloting, will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 6.

2016 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List
Tommy Armstrong Jr. (Nebraska, Sr., Cibolo, Texas)
J.T. Barrett (Ohio State, Jr., Wichita Falls, Texas)
C.J. Beathard (Iowa, Sr., Franklin, Tenn.)
Jake Browning (Washington, So., Granite Bay, Calif.)
Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee, Sr., Alpharetta, Ga.)
Dane Evans (Tulsa, Sr., Sanger, Texas)
Luke Falk (Washington State, Jr., Logan, Utah)
Quinton Flowers (USF, Jr., Miami, Fla.)
Skyler Howard (West Virginia, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas)
Brad Kaaya (Miami, Jr., Los Angeles, Calif.)
Chad Kelly (Ole Miss, Sr., Buffalo, N.Y.)
DeShone Kizer* (Notre Dame, Jr., Toledo, Ohio)
Taylor Lamb (Appalachian State, Jr., Calhoun, Ga.)
Mitch Leidner (Minnesota, Sr., Lakeville, Minn.)
Wes Lunt (Illinois, Sr., Rochester, Ill.)
Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech, Jr., Whitehouse, Texas)
Tanner Mangum* (BYU, So., Eagle, Idaho)
Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, Jr., Austin, Texas)
Nick Mullens (Southern Miss, Sr., Hoover, Ala.)
Josh Rosen (UCLA, So., Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State, Jr., Rock Hill, S.C.)
Cooper Rush (Central Michigan, Sr., Charlotte, Mich.)
Seth Russell (Baylor, Sr., Garland, Texas)
Brett Rypien (Boise State, So., Spokane, Wash.)
Anu Solomon (Arizona, Jr., Las Vegas, Nev.)
Brent Stockstill (Middle Tennessee, So., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)
Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, Sr., Fort Wayne, Ind.)
P.J. Walker (Temple, Sr., Elizabeth, N.J.)
Greg Ward Jr. (Houston, Sr., Tyler, Texas)
Deshaun Watson (Clemson, Jr., Gainesville, Ga.)


Cover Photo Credit: Kelsie VanderWijst, BGS

Shanna Rose
WVU Graduate with a bachelor's in journalism and multimedia journalist. Sports Fan and sports writer. Former WVU News reporter. Contact Shanna on Twitter @SMR1837
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar