You are here
Home > WVU Football > WVU’s Trickett named as semifinalist for Davy O’Brien Award

WVU’s Trickett named as semifinalist for Davy O’Brien Award

The Davy O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. Like most collegiate football awards the watch list is presented at the beginning of the season and cut down to a semifinalist list in November. The list for the prestigious honor will be cut down again on November 24th to reflect the 3 finalists for the award that will be presented on on December 11th during the Home Depot College Football Awards show. 

Today the selection committee which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, narrowed the watch list down to 16 semifinalists to include WVU’s redshirt senior Clint Trickett. There are also three other Big 12 QB’s that have made the semifinalist list in TCU’s Trevone Boykin, Kansas St’s Jake Waters, and Baylor’s Bryce Petty. The 16 semifinalists for the award are:

Nick Marshall (Auburn)

Blake Sims (Alabama)

J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)

Trevone Boykin (TCU)

Shane Carden (East Carolina)

Rakeem Cato (Marshall)

Connor Cook (Michigan State)

Everett Golson (Notre Dame)

Brett Hundley (UCLA)

Marcus Mariota (Oregon)

Bryce Petty (Baylor)

Dak Prescott (Mississippi State)

Clint Trickett (West Virginia)

Bo Wallace (Ole Miss)

Jake Waters (Kansas State)

Jameis Winston (Florida State) *last years winner

The eventual winner of the award will be evaluated based on Quarterback skills/athletic ability, Academics, Reputation as a team player, Character, Leadership, and Sportsmanship.

You can read more about the Award and its history here.

Jeremy Simon
Founder and publisher of, Jeremy is also a contributor to USA Today as well as covers the Mountaineers for Athlon Sports. Follow on Twitter @JSi07
Similar Articles
Skip to toolbar